top of page

Similac Gain: Milk Formula for 6-12 Months

Being a Mom, I care for my son's nutritional needs. I have to choose carefully the right milk formula for him, maybe not just me but most of the Moms out there. And from this, our babies will be the judge to what milk formula is right for him/her.


On his first month, I started to introduce Similac Plus Advance to him. (Aside from breastfeeding which I believe is still the best, I give him milk formula from time to time whenever I'm busy and can't breastfeed.) This is a standard milk formula, I was glad to know that he's not lactose intolerant.


And from the time he reached the age of 6 months, I changed his milk to Similac Gain which is the same brand he was using during his first 5 1/2 months. Since I have tried Similac from the beginning, I am confident that it still suits for my baby.


Similac Gain

When choosing milk formula, I read carefully the nutrients written in the can or box of the milk and if it's worth the price. These nutrients will be necessary for my son's growth and development and my son's growth and development will depend on the quality of what I will feed to him. Remember that we, Moms, are building healthy babies and good nutrition is very essential.


Nutrients in Similac Gain:

nutrients in similac gain

Suggested Feeding Schedule:

suggested feeding schedule

Comparing some brands to similac, I've noticed that some don't have ARA, DHA, lutein and selenium. Since the ability of human body to produce these fatty acids DHA & ARA is limited, the ARA & DHA in Similac helps my son to get what he can't produce.


These ingredients are found in breastmilk:

  • ARA & DHA for brain and eye development

  • Lutein to support eye health

  • Vitamin E an important nutrient found in breast milk to support developing cells


I've also learned that selenium beats many diseases.


Based on my research, Similac protein is 48% whey and 52% casein. Their protein choice shows that there is similarity between the amino acid profile in the blood of similac-fed babies and breastfed babies. They formulate their protein based on what actually gets into baby’s blood, not what is listed on the can. Based from this, it sounds good but we should never forget to let our babies' own digestion system be the guide. And for my baby, Similac suits perfectly for him.


*Disclaimer: I am not compensated for this review.

bottom of page